Birmingham Conservation Areas

There are currently 29 recognised Conservation Areas within the city of Birmingham:

  • Anchorage Road, Sutton Coldfield
  • Aston Hall and Church
  • Austin Village (Covered by Article 4(2) Direction)
  • Barnsley Road, Edgbaston
  • Bournville Tenants
  • Bournville Village (Covered by Article 4(2) Direction)
  • Colmore Row and Environs Conservation Area
  • Digbeth, Deritend and Bordesley High Streets
  • Edgbaston (Covered by Article 4(2) Direction)
  • Four Oaks
  • Greenfield Road, Harborne (Covered by Article 4(2) Direction)
  • Harborne Old Village
  • High Street, Sutton Coldfield (Covered by Article 4(2) Direction)
  • Jewellery Quarter
  • Kings Norton
  • Lee Crescent, Edgbaston
  • Lozells and Soho Hill
  • Moor Pool, Harborne (covered by Article 4(2) Direction)
  • Moseley (covered by Article 4(2) Direction)
  • Northfield Old Village
  • Old Yardley (covered by Article 4(1) Direction)
  • Ryland Road, Edgbaston
  • St Agnes, Moseley (covered by Article 4 (2) Direction)
  • St Augustines, Edgbaston
  • School Road, Hall Green
  • Selly Park (covered by Article 4 (2) Direction)
  • Selly Park Avenues (covered by Article 4 (2) Direction)
  • Steelhouse, City Centre
  • Warwick Bar, Digbeth

We hope to be able to provide GIS files that map these areas across Birmingham in future. In the meantime, Birmingham City Council provide a set of detailed maps of each of these conservation areas and the buildings that these contain.

Please note: A Conservation Area Review is currently being undertaken, which means that a number of conservation areas will be out to consultation over the course of this year and it is possible that boundaries will be changed and designations will be merged.

Data and Resources

Additional Info

Field Value
Source URL
Last Updated February 26, 2021, 16:41 (UTC)
Created February 26, 2021, 16:38 (UTC)
Original Source Birmingham City Council
Copyright Statement n/a
Publication Date (D/M/Y or M/Y or Y) 26/02/2021
Geographical Coverage Birmingham